Marijuana Law in Minnesota - Legal status, penalties for possession, use and dealing Marijuana in MinnesotaMarijuana is a controlled substance in Minnesota - possession, use, and dealing marijuana in Minnesota is illegal.
What are the penalties for using marijuana in Minnesota?
First offenses involving small amounts of marijuana usually mean no prison time or criminal record, if the marijuana is a small amount for personal consumption. These offenses are treated in a similar way to a minor traffic violation.
Possessing less than 42.5g of marijuana is a misdemeanor, carrying a fine of $200, and the possible requirement of drug education.
Possession of greater than 1.4g in a motor vehicle (except in the trunk) is a misdemeanor, punishable by a fine of $200 and up to one year in prison.
Possessing more than 42.5g of marijuana is a felony. The penalties are increasingly large fines, depending on the amount of the drug, and jail time.
Selling, distributing, or dealing marijuana is illegal in Minnesota.
Distributing less than 42.5g without remuneration is a misdemeanor, with a fine of $200 and possible drug education.
Selling any amount of marijuana is a felony, with jail time and increasingly large fines for dealing any quantity of marijuana. Selling to a minor, in a school or park zone, or bringing marijuana into the state, have stiffer penalties.
Marijuana and Driving
Minnesota has a zero tolerance policy for driving under the influence of any controlled substance. Driving with any detectable drug metabolite in your bloodstream can result in a fine up to $1000, 90 days jail time and suspension of your license for 180 days for a first offense. Fines, suspensions and jail time increase for subsequent offenses. More information on Minnesota's drugged driving policy.
Source: NORML, Minnesota NORML